embarrassing moment…- its all about the drain :)

Everyone has been embarrassed at one time or another. It is that moment in time when you wish the earth would open up and swallow you. The anxiety and discomfort felt during that time which may only last a few seconds feels like time has stood still.

I would like to share on an embarrassing incident that I will never forget in my life. It happen when I was 9 years old. Again, if you are kid, you level of curiosity is at the absolute level. But, for me, it was beyond that stage. I used to be so curious on what will happen to me if I put my legs onto the hole of the drain covers. I used to have this dare in me saying that the holes between the drain covers are big and nothing will happen to me.  Even though I came close several times in fulfilling my desire, the small amount of fear in me will somehow stop from doing it.

As time pass by, I still have the curiosity of trying it because it looks “unique” to me. One fine day, things went a little nasty. I still remember that we went back to my aunt’s place to attend my cousin sister’s birthday party. Upon reaching to our destination, my mother wanted to get some groceries at the super market as this birthday party was a pot luck kind of birthday party and every family member have to bring something. My mother decided to buy some stuff and prepare it at my aunt’s place as the distance between my place and her place will definitely spoil her preparation if she planned to prepare from my residence. Things was going so fine at the beginning , but, after leaving the supermarket, I saw the same version of drain cover with fancy holes on it. Again, the sense of curiosity evoke in myself, I was waiting for an opportunity to put my legs between the holes.

Can you believe it or not? I placed my legs between the holes. How did I do so?

*A small flashback*

My mother told me that she wanted to grab some potatoes from the local sundry shop  as the price of the potatoes in the supermarket was quite expensive. She asked me to wait outside while she quickly go inside and grab those potatoes. i agreed to stay outside because I have my own hidden agenda,  I was waiting for her to go in. After few minutes,i checked on my mom from the place I was standing. Noticing that she was a little busy in getting her stuff,  I quickly ran to the drain covers and put my leg between the holes. Due to the lack of balance in myself, I had to put both my leg into the drain cover.

Guess what?

At the beginning, i was so happy because I am able to fulfilled my long lost wish. But, as I was trying to pull out my legs from the drain cover, I couldn’t remove them at all! I tried my level best to remove my leg from the drain covers but I was unable to do so. I tried for few times and I decided to shout so that my mother will come out and check on me. My mother came out and she was shocked looking at my condition. I was practically half out and half in the drain. My mother tried to pull me out but she couldn’t do so at all. Everyone started to gather around me. I was so embarrassed looking at all of them. Few of them actually offered themselves to pull me of from this misery. Unfortunately, no one is able to pull me out; I started to cry as I see “failures” in all the efforts that everyone has put in pulling me out from here. After a while, one of them actually told my mother to call the Fire & Rescue Department as they might help me getting out from here.

After 20 minutes or so, the Fire & Rescue department came. After looking at the condition, they told my mom that they have to cut the covers as it is gripping my leg and there is no chance for them to pull me out physically. They took out this huge cutter as the covers are quite thick, on that very moment; I was thinking that I will actually lose my legs. I was that terrified after looking at the particular cutter. The fireman needed only 15 minutes to take me out from there. My legs were injured badly as they were tightly gripped by the covers.  Prior to the release, my mother scolded me because of my silly wrongdoings. Prior to that incident,  I couldn’t have the same amount of fun as others in the birthday party as I was bandaged around my leg and my toe. I was practically sitting down and doing nothing. All this happen because of my overly exaggerated curiosity.  Till this very moment, I will always remember that particular incident whenever I see a drain cover. Looking at that moment, I believe that embarrassing moments will actually teach you a lesson so that you would not repeat it again. For me, it was  definitely a precious lesson to be learnt!

the drain cover that i mentioned
the drain cover that i mentioned

Leave a comment